The international service of Czech Radio 
11-8-2020, 11:02 UTC
Ice Hockey World Championship 2004
Return to the main page Game Venues How the winners
are decided
A few World Championship statistics Schedule and results

How the winners are decided:

In the preliminary rounds, A,B,C and D all the teams in the group play each other (in total six games in each group). The best three teams in each group move on to the qualifying round. In this round the first, second and third in Group A will play the top three in Group D.These games will be played in Prague (Group E).

In the same way the top three from Groups B and C will play each other in Ostrava (Group F). The points from the games in groups A,D and E, and from the games in Groups B,C and F are added up (with the exception of the points from games against the teams that came last in the preliminary Groups A-D).

The four teams with the most points in Groups E and F at the end of this process then meet for the quarter-finals. Through a knock-out system the four winners then proceed to the semi-final.

Mascot of the Championship On Sunday 9th May, the losers in the semi-finals will battle for bronze, and the semi-final victors will fight for gold.

The four weakest teams from Groups A-D play each other in the relegation round (all against all - in total 6 games).

The teams that come third and fourth will be relegated to next year's B-World Championship.